• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • m5215

Pistoleer
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 3, 2018
    McKinney, TX
    If I go camping/hiking here in the North Texas area would a .40 S&W pistol be enough for any potential treats from animals typically in the area? Keep in mind that I am not a hunter so I have no background knowledge about encounters with animals. A .40 S&W pistol is the most powerful handgun I own at the moment so I assume it would be a better selection than one of my 9mm pistols.
    Capitol Armory ad

Lunyfringe

Well-Known
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Sep 22, 2017
    Canton, TX
    If I go camping/hiking here in the North Texas area would a .40 S&W pistol be enough for any potential treats from animals typically in the area? Keep in mind that I am not a hunter so I have no background knowledge about encounters with animals. A .40 S&W pistol is the most powerful handgun I own at the moment so I assume it would be a better selection than one of my 9mm pistols.
    Any difference would depend on the ammo, shot placement being more important than either caliber choice.

Worst case in North Texas- Mountain Lion? Maybe Black bear...

Probably more likely to have problems with two legged critters... snakes if it's warm (snake shot rounds).

I have camped in Tyler State Park with just a .40S&W... didn't think twice about it.

FireInTheWire

Caprock Crusader
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    .40 is just fine.

I live on a 1700 acre ranch with the threat of 2 legged animals, coyotes, hogs, mountain lions and black panthers. I keep a S&W sigma .40 in my 4 wheeler at all times and on my person when the kids and I are walking. I have dropped a hog with it. A hog will probably give ya the biggest fit. I believe anything else isn't gonna wanna tangle with ya after the first shot goes off. Hogs get very aggressive when injured. Head,vitals or spine.

My .02

FireInTheWire

Caprock Crusader
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0