• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • apariah

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 7, 2010
    The Colony
    I'm wanting to buy my first rifle, I just got my wife to agree with having firearms in the house and got my CHL this month. I want to pick up a few other guns as the budget allows, but one thing I really would like to get is either an AR, or AK. I've read a lot and watched a lot on both, and lots of people seem hard core over one or the other. I'm not since I have no experience with either.

I'm seeing AK's a bit cheaper than AR's, not to mention AK ammo seems cheaper as well. Considering how things are now, and may be in the future with ammo prices and parts availability, and legislation would it be better for a new rifle owner to to pick up an AR or an AK.

I'm also looking an a 9mm carbine for the wife since I think she will want no part of either an AR or AK.

As this is will be my first rifle, I have no opinion one way or another, but I know I won't have the budget to build a $1000.00 anything any time soon so comparing a 500-600 AK to a 900 AR really does me no good I realize just how nice some of the custom, or high end AR are, but I'm not even considering one of them.
    ARJ Defense ad

Ride4TheBrand

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    The Lone Star State
    It all depends on the mission of the rifle. Will it be a battle rifle, or will it be a show piece? The AR platform has, by far, more aftermarket accessories to dress it up and make it more "tacticool" compared to what is available for the AK. The AR shoots a .22 caliber bullet, the AK shoots a .30 caliber bullet. The AR is more accurate at long distances, while the effective range for the AK is about 300 meters. However, the AR is more prone to malfunction in extreme weather conditions compared to the AK.