• Status
    Not open for further replies.

SloppyShooter

Certifiable
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 24, 2018
    White Settlement, Texas
    It always bothers me a bit when I post something about an NFL game and I get all these " I don't watch NFL games because they're a bunch of overpaid entitlement spoiled athletes."

But yet, "Thank you for your service." is the standard response to the "I'm a vet."

So, let's look at each:

SOME NFL players ( a minority) fit that bill. The rest, are totally different animals. First off, the NFL is basically a free enterprise system. It's not funded by taxpayer money. ( Yes, I know what's coming, but I'm ready. ) The military, on the other hand is totally funded by taxpayer money.

Someone who has served in the military and never saw action, but wants to ride the coat tails of those who have made the supreme sacrifice make me a bit nauseous. They serve a purpose, as do National Guard members, as we need people at the ready. But to take a taxpayer funded ride around the world and make that your chest thumping claim to fame is just wrong.

One NFL player takes a knee, and the whole NFL is garbage. The truth is, besides being a valuable source of ENTERTAINMENT for millions of people, the average NFL player contributes heavily to many different philanthropic efforts, both financially and by hands on personal time and effort. The NFL contributes heavily to local economies wherever they call home, just economically through free enterprise.

Yeah, I guess Chad Hennings causes a real dilemma, huh? How about Pat Tillman? Can't be an American hero because he was an NFL player?

But another man who was shot down behind enemy lines and endured unthinkable torture recieved a ton of disrespect before he was cold and in the ground. But, nobody is dissing the whole military over one man's politics or military record.

Rant over....for now.
    Hurley's Gold

Younggun

Certified Jackass
    TGT Supporter
    Local Business Supporter