• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 24, 2011
    Austin, Tx
    I'm thinking about teaching my young cousin about guns,
    I've sadly taken over the father figure role because his father is a POS.
    I grew up playing sports, fighting, etc etc.
    He doesn't like sports or violence but he has a real interest in guns. I've shown him my guns and my uncles, SKS, 12 guage, 45's 9mm etc.
    But he's about to turn 12, and I'm still not sure if he's ready.
    At his age I was already a world champion athlete and was more mature,
    I started shooting at 14 with my friends out in the country.
    sooo does anyone have exp with this?
    maybe with your son or something along those lines?

All feedback is appreciated.
    DK Firearms

Dcav

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 31, 2009
    Converse
    I received my first gun at 12, hav'nt looked back since, still have it too. I learned to shoot and respect guns much younger than that though.

Texastransplant

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2010
    Purmela, Texas
    At birth lol. My kids all had toy guns as a baby. I had bought them chipmunk rifles years before they were born. BB guns at my house were age 6 and shooting 22's with help at that age. By the time they were 12 they each had a collection of guns. When they were 12 they started working summers and week nights at a trap range not far from where we lived and when 15 they beat out the area trap league as trap kids. What's nice when you teach them this early and earlier the better the curiosity is gone. They know what a gun does and know how to handle it safely and I trusted them to use our range out back. When they went shooting with others I had no worry because they took it seriously. I just did what my folks did with me back in the 50's and 60's and passed it on.

scgstuff

TGT Addict
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0