• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • London

The advocate's Devil.
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Sep 28, 2010
    Twilight Zone
    A year and a half ago I was deferred for an interference charge (cop falsely arrested me for concealed carry in my vehicle, then lied and changed his story when his partner told him to let me go). It is a class B misdemeanor. I successfully completed the terms of my deferment.

Am I still able to get a CHL? One section of the CHL manual says (contrary to state law) that an adjudication IS a conviction. If I'm reading the manual correctly, anyone convicted of a class B cannot apply until five years after the conviction.

Also, I'm a student. If I do end up getting a CHL am I able to carry on campus? I remember Jeff Wentworth got a bill passed which allows concealed carry on campus, but I never heard anything of it after.
    Venture Surplus ad

Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Aug 17, 2010
    Austin
    You will be eligible 5 years from the date of your probation. For some purposes in Texas deferred adjudication is treated the same as conviction.

If you can have your record sealed or expunged, you will be eligible immediately.

Campus carry is still illegal for CHL holders.

MR Redneck

TGT Addict
    BANNED!!!
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 20, 2010
    The great country of West Texas
    I got arrested a few months for having a gun in my pocket while inside my truck. A few days later all the charges were droped because it aint against the law. CC in a vehicle is defined by it not being visible from outside of the vehicle. doesnt say anything about where you can put it.
    It isnt your fault the cop didnt know the law. If you hand gun wasnt visible from outside the vehicle and you werent doing something criminal, then you need to have this mess cleared up. Dont allow the ignorance of another person to leave a mark like that on your record.